Know your ISP.

User #84292   738 posts
Whirlpool Enthusiast

I put a bid on an item and it was below reserve, and I was out bid. The auction ended and the reserve was NOT met.

I then get an email offering a second chance offer. The email reads to not press the buy it now button and to email them directly to some email they put in. Upon checking the buy it now in 'My Ebay' the deal seems to have expired anyway... OK so so far it is sounding real dodgy but I email and ask what is the go and get told I need to send them my name, address, country, price i want to pay etc etc. And that it will be sold according to ebays 'I SOLD IT' rules.

I googled, and I sold it seems to be some escrow type thing run by ebay but it still seems like a scam? The item is relisted with a lowered reserve. The seller is a powerseller. I "asked a question" through the item link and havn't received a response while at the other email it was a very quick response. I have a hunch the account might have been hijacked without the seller knowing?

posted 2007-Apr-27, 1pm AEST
User #26986   21164 posts
Senior Moderator

Felty writes...

I have a hunch the account might have been hijacked without the seller knowing?

It sounds like that to me too. There has been an issue with second chance offers being made similarly to how you described, in the past. I wouldn't take it any further in your situation.

posted 2007-Apr-27, 1pm AEST
User #84292   738 posts
Whirlpool Enthusiast

Hmm upon checking out the isoldit site, they only have one store actually opened in Australia and it's in Melb while the seller is in NSW.

www.i-soldit.com.au/locations.asp

Hmm guess it's yet another scam *sigh*

posted 2007-Apr-27, 1pm AEST
User #94184   40 posts
Forum Regular

hmmm im fairly sure ive read bout this somewhere. I think it is some legit dude who started it up but i don't really remember much more than that (and don't quote me on this i could be wrong).

posted 2007-Apr-27, 1pm AEST
User #42054   143 posts
Forum Regular

"iSold It" is a legit business where someone can walk in to their store with an item they want to sell on eBay and the store lists and sells the item on the customers behalf.

However I don’t think they would send you an email like that and ask you to do something that is clearly not within the eBay rules. I think the email is from someone pretending to be "iSold It"

I would stay away from that one.

posted 2007-Apr-27, 3pm AEST
User #84292   738 posts
Whirlpool Enthusiast

Just to let anyone know, the legit seller responded and said it was someone scamming. Bit weird to think they are using legit lisitings to con people without the seller even knowing they are in the account.

posted 2007-Apr-28, 11am AEST
User #50030   11759 posts
Whirlpool Forums Addict

This is good to know. Did you or the original seller report this to eBay?

posted 2007-May-1, 2pm AEST
User #150137   717 posts
Whirlpool Enthusiast

delirious writes...

"iSold It" is a legit business where someone can walk in to their store with an item they want to sell on eBay and the store lists and sells the item on the customers behalf.

good idea but ebay charge huge rates so if you add extra costs on top of it wouldnt u be looking at cash converter type rates?

posted 2007-May-7, 4am AEST
User #5273   4465 posts
Whirlpool Forums Addict

Felty writes...

Hmm guess it's yet another scam *sigh*

I'd guess so, going by www.i-soldit.com.au/fraud.asp

posted 2007-May-7, 9am AEST
User #150137   717 posts
Whirlpool Enthusiast

Brad T writes...

Felty writes...

Hmm guess it's yet another scam *sigh*

I'd guess so, going by www.i-soldit.com.au/fraud.asp


so be clear about that there was a scam email going out which was pretending to be them.

isoldit is a legitimate business but the email wasnt theres

posted 2007-May-7, 11am AEST
User #174309   1 posts
Forum Regular

I am not sure I would call them a legit business - in the US aproximately half of their stores have folded, bankrupting many hard working franchisees. In UK they went belly up, so did Ireland. The business model has a lot of flaws and the Corp offices no longer exisit except virtually, the software is a joke and supposedly they are no longer selling the franchises (except in Australia). Check out the website www.amitheonlyone.org for more info on these ebay drop off stores, before buying.

posted 2007-May-27, 2pm AEST
User #80666   7373 posts
Whirlpool Forums Addict

amitheonlyone writes...

I am not sure I would call them a legit business - in the US aproximately half of their stores have folded, bankrupting many hard working franchisees.

Just because their business model was crap doesn't mean they weren't a legit business.

posted 2007-May-27, 4pm AEST
User #114600   65 posts
Forum Regular

This sort of thing happens on eBay.

I bought a PDA off this guy and the item listing had questions and answers visible on it. In the sellers answers he signed off as Tony. Anyway I got my pda and 2 days later I got an email saying second chance offering to me signed by Tony. But I already got my PDA (i.e. I won the bid that I was supposedly getting the second chance on) and the email was from a Tony with a different last name.

I'm not an idiot so I picked up on what was going on and told the proper seller who worked out his account was hijacked. Only downside was the item listing was cancelled and I didn't get credit in feedback for my $650 purchase. But i still have the PDA and receipt a year later and its all good.

posted 2007-May-28, 4pm AEST
Hosted by
WebCentral Australia
Big numbers
975,729 threads
17,199,771 posts
2,008,062 whims sent
3,081 wiki topics
235 ISPs listed
8,129 broadband plans
820 modems & routers
40,565 features filled